May 19, 2022

go health

Navratri Food Rules: Navaratri 2021 fasting rules: What to eat, what to avoid

Navratri 2021 fasting will start from Thursday, October 7, 2021, for the month of Ashwin. Navratri is a Hindu festival that celebrates the victory of good over evil. The festival of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Durga and her nine avatars.
Devotees keep strict fasting for nine days to please and seek the blessings of Goddess Durga. Some devotees observe the fasts for all nine days, whereas some keep fast in jodas (couple) – the first two or the last two days of the Navratri. Also, some devotees take only water during these nine days, while some eat fruits while few prefer to eat one meal a day. some of the popular Navratri food recipes include – Kuttu Ki Puri, Singhade Ka Halwa, Singhare Ke Pakore, Sabudana Vada, and Sabudana Khichdi, etc.
Navratri 2021 fasting rules
Navratri fasting is strict and there are many rules you should know if you are planning to observe Navratri 2021 fasting:
Flours and Grains: During Navratri, regular grains like wheat and rice are not allowed. If you are following “one meal a day” fasting, then you should eat Kuttu ka Atta (buckwheat flour) or Singhare ka Atta (water chestnut flour), or Rajgira ka Atta (amaranth flour) only. Samai Ke Chawal or Samvat Ke Chwaal (barnyard millet) can be used to replace rice in making khichdi, dhoklas, or kheer. Sabudana is another staple food during Navratri that can be used in making kheer, vadas and papads.
Fruits: Those who are on a fruit diet during Navratri can eat all types of fruits. Some devotees also consume milk during Navratri fasting.
Spices and Herbs: Normal table salt is not consumed during Navratris. Use alternative rock salt or sendha namak for cooking during Navratri. In spices, you can use cumin or cumin powder, black pepper powder, green cardamom, cloves, cinnamon, ajwain, black peppercorns, dry pomegranate seeds, kokum, tamarind and nutmeg. Some people also use fresh coriander leaves, red chilly powder, dry mango powder, chaat masala etc.
Vegetables: During Navratri fasting, most people consume vegetables like – potatoes, sweet potato, arbi, kachalu, suran or yam, lemons, raw or semi-ripe pumpkin, raw pumpkin, spinach, tomatoes, bottle gourd, cucumber, carrots etc.
Milk and dairy products: Milk and dairy products like curd, paneer or cottage cheese, white butter, ghee, malai, and preparations with milk and khoya are mostly consumed during Navratri fasting.
Avoid these food items: All fast foods, canned food, and foods prepared using onion or garlic should be avoided. Devotees who are keeping Navratri fasts should also avoid consuming legumes, lentils, rice flour, cornflour, all-purpose flour, whole wheat flour and semolina (rava). Non-vegetarian food, eggs, alcohol, smoking and aerated drinks are also a strict no-no.